Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Cheltenham Gold Cup will once again provide the year’s Grade 1 steeplechase highlight. As has been the case over the past two years, this year’s Gold Cup is shaping up as a straightforward duel between reigning champion, Kauto Star, and his stablemate, Denman.

Neither horse has competed much since 2009, when Kauto Star won the Gold Cup back from Denman, and there’s real uncertainty over whether or not Denman’s bullocking style of running will trump the unequivocal class of Kauto Star for a second time.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Betting

First run in 1924, the Cheltenham Gold Cup has produced a number of stable trends over recent decades to assist punters in making the most of Gold Cup betting opportunities:

Age: Cheltenham Gold Cup winners need to be at the peak of their racing powers. For this reason most winners are aged between 7 and 9-years-old.
Odds: The Cheltenham Gold Cup betting markets tend to produce an antepost favourite priced around evens. The favourite has won the race three times in the last five seasons, and placed when failing to win. Horses priced over 10/1 rarely claim honours in this race.
Jockey: Ruby Walsh is the man to watch at the 2010 Cheltenham Gold Cup. He's won the race twice in the past five years and will be onboard Kauto Star in 2010.
Trainer: Few trainers can match up to Paul Nicholls' record in this race. Nicholls has trained four winners in the last eleven years and fields the two strongest entries in 2010.
Cheltenham Gold Cup Tip: Back bets on the first two in the betting are a popular option for the Cheltenham Gold Cup, with many punters going for an each-way bet on the second favourite if it is priced 4/1 or higher.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Race Facts

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the world's premier Grade 1 steeplechase for stayers. The race is run over a distance of 3 miles and 2 furlongs over the new course at Cheltenham Racecourse on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival.

Entry to the Cheltenham Gold Cup is open to horses aged 5 and above. The race tends to attract the a selection of the highest rated racehorses in national hunt racing, and is one of the biggest racing betting events of the year.